Calendar

Homework assignments start with online WebAssign Warmups; once you have completed those, move on to the Paper Problems. I will record both types of homeworks at the end of each chapter. 

I recommend that you do not use a calculator on the homework, since calculators are not permitted on the Mastery Quizzes. However, after completing problems you might want to verify the reasonableness of your answers with a graphing calculator or a free online tool such as Desmos or Wolfram Alpha.

Mastery Quizzes will be randomly generated from large multiple-choice problem banks based on the homework assignments.  All tests, and the final exam, are made up of Mastery Quizzes. You will have limited in-class opportunities to retake Mastery Quizzes of your choosing according to the calendar below.

 

Mon Jan 13

In Class:
Hello / Logistics

Late Joiners:
Fill out First Day Survey
Say hi in the Canvas Chat
Watch video Growth Mindset
Do the Practice Quiz

Homework:
Online Policy Check
MATH 231 WebAssign Review

(Log in to WebAssign through Canvas)

Wed Jan 15

In Class:
4.2 Power Functions

Homework: 
4.2 WebAssign Warmup
4.2 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 23, 27, 35, 41, 51, 76, 84

Study:
Prepare for 231 Review MQ

Fri Jan 17

In Class:
231 Review MQ
4.3 Polynomial Functions

Homework: 
4.3 WebAssign Warmup
4.3 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, 27, 30, 37, 38, 43, 52

Deadline for WebAssign Review

Mon Jan 20

(Martin Luther King, Jr. Day)

Wed Jan 22

In Class:
4.4 Rational Functions

Homework: 
4.4 WebAssign Warmup (for #20 put y=x-3 slant, DNE curve; for #24 put DNE slant, curve; for #32 put y=x slant, DNE curve; for #40 put DNE slant, curve)
4.4 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, 10, 16, 50 (don’t do slant/curve), 71

Study:
Prepare for Retake of 231 Review MQ

Fri Jan 24

In Class:
Retake 231 Review MQ
Review for Chapter 4 Test

Homework:
Finish all remaining WebAssign and Paper Problems for Sections 4.2, 4.3, and 4.4

Study: 
Prepare for Monday’s test

Mon Jan 27

In Class:
CHAPTER 4 TEST
(MQ 4.2 + MQ 4.3 + MQ 4.4)

Deadline for WebAssign and Paper Problems

Wed Jan 29

In Class:
Test Recap

Study:
Prepare for your choice of MQ Retake

Fri Jan 31

In Class:
Retake any MQ

5.1 Exponential and Logarithmic Functions

Homework: 
5.1 WebAssign Warmup
5.1 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, TBD

Mon Feb 3

In Class:
5.2 Limits of Exp and Log Functions

Homework: 
5.2 WebAssign Warmup
5.2 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, TBD

Study:
Prepare for your choice of MQ Retake

Wed Feb 5*

In Class:
Retake any MQ
Questions

Fri Feb 7

In Class:
5.3 Derivatives of Exp and Log Functions

Homework: 
5.3 WebAssign Warmup
5.3 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, TBD

Mon Feb 10

In Class:
5.5 L’Hopital’s Rule

Homework: 
5.5 WebAssign Warmup
5.5 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, TBD

 

Wed Feb 12

In Class:
Review for Chapter 5 Test

Homework:
Finish all remaining WebAssign and Paper Problems for Sections 5.1, 5.2, 5.3, and 5.5

Study: 
Prepare for Friday’s test

Fri Feb 14*

In Class:
CHAPTER 5 TEST
(MQ 5.1 + MQ 5.2 + MQ 5.3 + MQ 5.5)

Deadline for WebAssign and Paper Problems

Mon Feb 17

In Class:
Test Recap

Study:
Prepare for your choice of MQ Retake

Wed Feb 19

In Class:
Retake any MQ
6.1 Trigonometric Functions

Homework: 
6.1 WebAssign Warmup
6.1 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, TBD

Fri Feb 21

In Class:
6.2 Trigonometric Identities

Homework: 
6.2 WebAssign Warmup
6.2 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, TBD

Mon Feb 24

In Class:
6.3 Limits and Derivatives of Trig Functions

Homework: 
6.3 WebAssign Warmup
6.3 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, TBD

Study:
Prepare for your choice of MQ Retake

Wed Feb 26*

In Class: 
Retake any MQ
Problems

Fri Feb 28*

In Class: 
Trigonometry Worksheet
(with introduction to Inverse Trig)

Homework: 
Finish Trigonometry Worksheet

Mon Mar 2

In Class:
6.4 Inverse Trig Functions

Homework: 
6.4 WebAssign Warmup
6.4 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, TBD

Wed Mar 4

In Class:
Review for Chapter 6 Test

Homework:
Finish all remaining WebAssign and Paper Problems for Sections 6.1, 6.2, 6.3, and 6.4

Study: 
Prepare for Friday’s test

Fri Mar 6

In Class:
CHAPTER 6 TEST
(MQ 6.1 + MQ 6.2 + MQ 6.3 + MQ 6.4)

Deadline for WebAssign and Paper Problems

Mon Mar 9

(Spring Break)

Wed Mar 11

(Spring Break)

Fri Mar 13

(Spring Break)

Mon Mar 16

In Class:
Test Recap

Wed Mar 18

In Class:
7.1 Addition and Accumulation

Homework: 
7.1 WebAssign Warmup
7.1 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, TBD

Study:
Prepare for your choice of MQ Retake

Fri Mar 20*

In Class:
Retake any MQ
Problems

Mon Mar 23

In Class:
7.2 Riemann Sums

Homework: 
7.2 WebAssign Warmup
7.2 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, 5, 15, 28, 31, 37, 44, 45

Wed Mar 25

In Class:
More time for Riemann Sums

Study:
Prepare for your choice of MQ Retake

Fri Mar 27

In Class:
Retake any MQ
Problems

Mon Mar 30

In Class:
7.3 Definite Integrals

Homework: 
7.3 WebAssign Warmup
7.3 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, TBD

Wed Apr 1

In Class:
Review for Capstone Test

Homework:
Finish all remaining WebAssign and Paper Problems for Sections 7.1, 7.2, and 7.3

Study: 
Prepare for Friday’s test

Fri Apr 3

In Class:
CHAPTER 7 TEST
(MQ 7.1 + MQ 7.2 + MQ 7.3)

Deadline for WebAssign and Paper Problems

Mon Apr 6

In Class:
Test Recap

Wed Apr 8

In Class:
7.4 Indefinite Integrals

Homework: 
7.4 WebAssign Warmup
7.4 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, TBD

Study:
Prepare for your choice of MQ Retake

Fri Apr 10

In Class:
Retake any MQ
Problems

Mon Apr 13

In Class: 
7.5 Fundamental Theorem of Calculus

Homework: 
7.5 WebAssign Warmup
7.5 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, TBD

Study:
Prepare for your choice of MQ Retake

Wed Apr 15

In Class:
Retake any MQ
Problems

Fri Apr 17

In Class:
8.1 Integration by Substitution

Homework: 
8.1 WebAssign Warmup
8.1 Paper Problems: 0, 1, 2, TBD

Study:
Prepare for your choice of MQ Retake

Mon Apr 20

In Class:
Retake any MQ
Problems

Wed Apr 22

In Class:
Review for Capstone Test

Homework:
Finish all remaining WebAssign and Paper Problems for Sections 7.4, 7.5, and 8.1

Study: 
Prepare for Friday’s test

Fri Apr 24

In Class:
CAPSTONE TEST
(MQ 7.4 + MQ 7.5 + MQ 8.1)

Deadline for WebAssign and Paper Problems

Mon Apr 27

In Class:
Test Recap

Study:
Prepare for your choice of MQ Retake

Wed Apr 29

In Class:
Retake any MQ
Attendance quiz
Choose final exam retakes
Course evaluations

Study: 
Prepare for the Final Exam

Wed May 6

FINAL EXAM
(One cumulative MQ + any six MQ Retakes of your choice)