Calendar

  • Due Dates: All Homework is due by web link submission to Canvas before noon the next class day (two hours before class).
  • Plan Ahead: 3D prints can take a long time to finish, and your first print won’t always work out. Leave enough time to reprint before the deadline if needed.
  • Check the Calendar: Before every print, consult the JMU 3SPACE calendar to make sure that your print job will finish before the next scheduled 3SPACE class or event. Prints that overlap scheduled classes and events will be canceled.
  • Keep your Models: Keep all 3D prints and failures; you’ll need them for the final exam showcase. You can keep them at home or in the UNST 300E box at the back of the room.

Mon Jan 13

Class:
Logistics and accounts
Tour of 3D puzzles

Print in class:
Penny traps

Late Joiners:
Fill out the First Day Survey
Go through the Introduction post

Homework:
10 pts – Hello (first WordPress Portfolio post)
10 pts 
– Puzzle Research

(All homework instructions are on Canvas)

Wed Jan 15

Class:
Tinkercad and simple cube puzzles

Print in class:
Small puzzles from Thingiverse

Homework:
10 pts – Thingiverse Puzzle Print
10 pts 
– Tinkercad Cube Puzzle

Mon Jan 20

(Martin Luther King, Jr. Day)

Wed Jan 22

Class:
Critique of printed cube puzzles
Tour of Carrier Makery equipment (take photos!)

Homework:
20 pts – Cube Puzzle Iteration

Mon Jan 27

Class:
Critique of iterated cube puzzle designs

Print in class:
Someone else’s cube puzzle

Homework:
20 pts – Cube Puzzle Wrap-Up (due *Friday* noon)

Wed Jan 29

Class:
Work time for final iterations
Fix old blog post problems

Print in class:
More final iterations prints

Homework:
10 pts – Critical Thinking Assessment 1
10 pts – Personal Project Pitch

Mon Feb 3

Class:
Final project pitches
New blog posts and prototyping discussion

Print in class:
Whatever you like

Homework:
20 points – Final Project Prototype (due 2/10 at 12pm)
Also due next class: All revisions and edits from previous posts – now extended to 2/12

Wed Feb 5

(No class today)

Mon Feb 10

Class:
Prototype showcase
Fusion 360 introduction

Print in class:
Whatever you need

Homework:
20 points – 20 Things from Fusion 360 (due 2/17)
Extension on revision points (now due 2/12)

Wed Feb 12

Class:
Fusion 360 tutorial and assistance

Print in class:
Some tiny thing from Fusion 360

Homework:
Finish the “20 things” assignment

Mon Feb 17

Class:
Start designing and testing difficult puzzle components

Print in class:
Small tests

Homework:
20 points – Initial Design Tests

Wed Feb 19

Class:
Short presentations on current testing processes
Keep going; you are doing great work!

Print in class:
More tests and iterations, as needed

Homework:
20 points – Continued Testing

Mon Feb 24

Class:
Final report on last week’s tests
Start working on project planning – see Spreadsheet

Print in class:
Whatever you need

Homework:
20 points – Digital Fabrication in the Makery

Wed Feb 26*

(No class today)

Mon Mar 2

Class:
Show off what you made at the Makery
Work on formalizing your Plan and Project Schedule

Print in class:
Something helpful to your project

Homework:
20 points – Project Planning Outline

Wed Mar 4

Class:
Introduction to OpenSCAD

Print in class:
Small object exported from code

Homework:
20 points – 10 Things in OpenSCAD (due Wed after break)

Mon Mar 9

(Spring Break)

Wed Mar 11

(Spring Break)

Mon Mar 16

(JMU no classes)

Wed Mar 18

(JMU no classes)

Mon Mar 23

Class:
Zoom call 2pm – link will appear in Canvas

Homework:
Finish/fix all previous WordPress posts
(From now on all assignments due by following Sunday 11:59pm)

Mon Mar 30

Class:
Zoom call 2pm – link will appear in Canvas

Homework:
20 pts – First OpenSCAD Design

Mon Apr 6

Class:
Zoom call 2pm – link will appear in Canvas

Homework:
20 pts – Second OpenSCAD Design

Mon Apr 13

Class:
Zoom call 2pm – link will appear in Canvas

Homework:
20 pts – Iterate one of your OpenSCAD Designs

Mon Apr 20

Class:
Zoom call 2pm – link will appear in Canvas

Homework:
20 pts – TBD

Mon Apr 27

Class:
Zoom call 2pm – link will appear in Canvas

Homework:
20 pts – TBD

Mon May 4

1-3pm is our official exam time
We will meet at the official final exam time by Zoom call — note that the time is one hour earlier than usual!

Final Showcase
??? TBD

Homework:
Everything is due today at noon